Public Media for Alaska's Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

7 candidates are vying for 3 open seats on Bethel Advisory School Board

Gabby Salgado

Election day is coming up on Oct. 5. In Bethel, voters will be making decisions in three contests. In addition to choosing their city council members and Lower Kuskokwim School District board members, voters will also be choosing their Bethel Advisory School Board members. 

The Bethel Advisory School Board has three open seats with seven people running. Terms are for three years. The candidates are Sonya Beaver, Deshan Foret, Brian Jackson, Mark Jones, Jamie Jacobs-McDonald, Winter Montgomery, and Wyatt Rogers.

Bethel Advisory School Board members meet once a month and share community feedback with Bethel school principals and the district. They also help shape Bethel school policies and budgets.

The elections will be held Oct. 5, the same day as the state-run election for Bethel City Council members and LKSD board members. You can vote early in Bethel for your city council members and school board members, but there is currently no early voting for Bethel Advisory School Board elections. The election will be administered at the Bethel Cultural Center and the LKSD District Office. Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

An earlier version of this story included a photo of Ayaprun Elitnaurvik in Bethel. Ayaprun Elitnaurvik has its own advisory school board outside of the Bethel ASB.


Related Content