Sen. Hoffman Appointed To Senate Majority Leader

Jul 8, 2019

Sen. Lyman Hoffman during a Senate Finance Committee meeting on March 29, 2016.
Credit Skip Gray / 360 North

The Alaska Senate has a new leader who could bring more political leverage to the Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta. Senate President Cathy Gessiel appointed Bethel Democratic Sen. Lyman Hoffman to Senate Majority Leader. Hoffman replaced Sen. Mia Costello in the role after she did not appear in Juneau on Monday for the start of the second special session.

Costello, an Anchorage Republican, instead appeared in Wasilla along with a small group of legislators who abided by Gov. Mike Dunleavy's call for the Alaska Legislature to convene there. The group did not meet quorum.

Hoffman is the only Democrat in the majority, and is the Legislature’s longest-serving member. Senate President Gessiel also appointed Hoffman to fill Costello’s seats on the Rules Committee and the Committee on Committees. Hoffman also sits on the Senate Finance Committee, Senate Community and Regional Affairs Committee, Joint Legislative Council Committee, and Joint Legislative Budget and Audit Committee.