Public Media for Alaska's Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KYUK News Wins Eight Alaska Press Club Awards

Photo by KYUK-Myka Kernak

This year KYUK News received eight awards for excellence in journalism from the Alaska Press Club, a renowned collection of journalists from throughout the state.   

The awards show that KYUK continues to be recognized by media peers throughout the state for our dedication to meaningful news stories.

News Director Anna Rose MacArthur received a first place prize for health reporting about energy drinks after an elected official in Bethel suffered a medical emergency some blame on popular caffeinated beverages.  Former News Director Daysha Eaton received a second place prize in crime reporting following the aftermath of a tragic murder in the village of Chevak.  Former reporter Ben Matheson and KYUK Videographer Dean Swope earned a third place prize in the multi-media category for their video about Pete Kaiser’s K300 victory, an award that was won competing against large commercial media outlets in Anchorage.  The award was one of five for Matheson.

These stories illustrate the challenges facing those living in the YK Delta and KYUK’s commitment to covering those challenges with dignity and professionalism.

This year’s award haul was especially impressive for a small newsroom such as ours.

As most of our audience knows the KYUK newsroom is much smaller than in decades past due to funding cuts from the State of Alaska and years of flat-line funding from major reveunue sources like the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. We simply lack the financial resources to cover every story in the YK Delta. Instead we try every day to prioritize those stories that are attainable and that our audience most urgently needs.

While we can’t cover everything thing we would want to, we’re proud to be recognized for our quality reporting on the stories we can cover.

The Alaska Press Club is an independent professional organization that provides continuing education, recognition and information to journalists across the state.   The awards were for stories produced during the 2015 calendar year. The Alaska Press Club has awarded KYUK Public Media 25 awards since 2011.

Complete list of Alaska Press Club Awards for KYUK

Best Reporting on Health: First Place

KYUK Anna Rose MacArthur - Bethel Vice Mayor Says His Heart Stopped After Consuming Energy Drinks


Best Comprehensive Coverage: Second Place

KYUK Ben Matheson-A Moving Target: Alcohol on the Kuskokwim


Best Reporting on Crime or Courts: Second Place

KYUK Daysha Eaton - A Year Later, Chevak Still Waiting for Justice for Roxanne Smart


Best Multimedia Presentation: Third Place

KYUK Ben Matheson, Dean Swope- Bethel's Pete Kaiser Wins Kuskokwim 300


Best Graphic: Third Place

KYUK Ben Matheson - A Moving Target: WAANT Pursues Bootleg Liquor


Best Breaking News Story: Third Place

KYUK Anna Rose MacArthur- Fire at Kilbuck School Building


Best Reporting on Government or Politics: Third Place

KYUK Ben Matheson - Bethel Faces Big Decision on Local Liquor Licenses


Vern McCorkle Award for Best Business Reporting: Third Place

KYUK Ben Matheson- Swanson’s Grocery Store To Close Friday

Shane has been serving as General Manager since 2016. He joined KYUK as a journalist before he was promoted to radio director. He coaches several youth sports teams and enjoys hunting and fishing for his family and friends.