Public Media for Alaska's Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Greg Larson Wins Third Akiak Dash Title

Joey Mendolia

Greg Larson is the 2020 Akiak Dash champion. The Napaskiak musher earned his third Akiak Dash title when his team cruised into Bethel at 7:25 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 18. He previously won in 2004 and 2016.


The 47-year-old outlasted a speedy Joe Demantle Jr. of Tuluksak to arrive with a lead of six minutes. Larson was happy with the trail he traveled on with his team to victory. 


“Good race, very nice trail out there. A lot of good snow; it's beautiful out there. Nice weather and nice trail," said Larson. “It was just amazing.”


For his victory, Larson earns about $4,700.  


Second place Joe Demantle Jr. finished in Bethel at 7:31 p.m. and praised his team at the chute.


“The dogs are great, I couldn’t ask for a better team right here. I wish I had more miles though," said Demantle.


Demantle wins $3,700 for his second place finish. Akiak musher Mike Williams Jr. arrived third at 8:01 p.m., followed by Aniak’s Isaac Underwood in fourth at 8:10 p.m. In fifth was Gilbert Phillip at 8:05 p.m. The 13 mushers will split a $30,000 purse.