Calista Corporation Board Remains Unchanged Following Elections

Jul 9, 2019

Johnnie Evan, George Guy, and Wayne Don taking oaths of office following their reelection to the Calista Corporation board on July 5, 2019 in Toksook Bay, Alaska.
Credit Thom Leonard / Calista Corporation

According to unofficial election results, the Calista Board of Directors remains unchanged following the regional Alaska Native corporation’s annual meeting on Friday. George Guy of Kwethluk, Johnnie Evan of Tuntutuliak, and Wayne Don of Mekoryuk were all re-elected to the Calista Board.

Guy will continue to represent Kwethluk, Napaskiak, Oscarville, Napakiak, and Eek in Unit 4. Evan will continue representing Tuntutuliak, Quinhagak, Goodnews Bay, Platinum, Kwigillingok, Kipnuk, and Kongiginak in Unit 5. Don will continue to represent Mekoryuk, Chefornak, Toksook Bay, Umkumiut, Tununak, Nightmute, and Newtok in Unit 6.

Each term runs three years. The Calista Board endorsed Guy and Evan for re-election. Guy has served since 1998, Evan since 2013, and Don since 2016.

The election results remain unofficial until certified by an independent certified public accounting firm in Anchorage. Those results are expected early this week.

Voter turnout was the fourth-highest in Calista history with over 59 percent of shareholders voting. More than half of those votes were cast online. Elders comprised more than a third of those online votes.

According to the Calista website, board member duties include “the responsibility of hiring and reviewing the performance of the company’s president/CEO, establishing broad policies and objectives, approving budgets, and ensuring the availability of adequate financial resources.”